A to Z: YA Edition

A few weeks ago, while I was on the road to Oz (North Carolina, that is) I put a my friend in charge of the tunes. At some point we listened to some stand up comedy and finally we landed on Slacker Radio (via my friend’s phone – it’s an App) and on a playlist called 90s A to Z.

In short it was absolutely great! Everything from Nirvana to TLC was accounted for. Seriously, great playlist! So much so that when I got home I made sure to download the Slacker App (and have listened to the 90s A to Z several times already.

But here’s the thing about this playlist, there wasn’t any rhyme or reason. Genres were intermingled, and sometimes it didn’t even make sense why a certain song and/or artist corresponded with the letter. For example, when we got to the letter P I swore it was Pearl Jam. I mean, how could it not be!? Pearl Jam’s Jeremy was a quintessential 90s jam! How could it not.

Well, guess what? Pearl Jam was not for letter P. Instead, it was Peppers, as in the Red Hot Chili’s. I like the Red Hot Chili Peppers. And yes, the completely deserve to be on the 90s A to Z play lists, but under P, really?!!

The thing is, with this playlist, anything goes.  The song title didn’t have to begin with the letter it was representing.  The band name (judging by the letter P, and the example above) It just, in some conveluded way has to circle back and relate to the letter it’s representing.

So, I thought I’d have a little fun. First I thought I’d put my own 90s playlist together.  But where would I post it? This isn’t a music blog. Then! The good ol’ light bulb lit up. What if I put together my own A – Z My Best of the Best YA Booklist!

Each letter will be represented by a book or an author. For example, M can be Devilish by Maureen Johnson (get it, M for Maureen?!).

I read a lot of YA, but I also read a lot of children’s (picture) books, so I decided that I’d do two lists – the YA Edition (this one) and next week I’ll post the Children’s Edition.

Without further adieu…

A is for All I Need by Susane Colasanti

B is for Bray, as in the one and only Libba and her 1920s smash The Diviners.

C is for cycle, The Raven Cycle # 1 The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

D is for The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron

E is Eliot Schrefer’s Endangered

F is for, what else, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

G is for Green, as in John. The Fault in Our Stars is easily one of my most favorite books!

H is for Harrington, Kim Harrington’s Clarity.

I  is for In, as in in love, as in Falling In Love With English Boys by Melissa Jensen

J is for the J in Ilsa J. Bick and her awesome book Ashes

K is for kill, as in To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

L is for Little Blue Envelopes, all 13 of them by Maureen Johnson

M is for Ms. Myracle’s Shine

N is for Nirvana. Not the band, but the book Adios Nirvana by Conrad Wesselhoeft

O is for kicking it old school with R.L. Stine’s One Evil Summer

P is for Perkins, not the restaurant but the author Stephanie and her book Lola and the Boy Next Door

Q is for the Queen of Kentucky by Alecia Whitaker

R is for the “r” in Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

S is for Struts & Frets by Jon Skovron

T is for Tara…Tara Altebrando’s Dreamland Social Club

U is for adventures in Underland, and A.G. Howards Splintered.

V is for Violet & Clare by Fancesca Lia Block

W is for the wonders to behold in Wonder Show by Hannah Barnaby

X (intentionally left open, because … well I don’t have a have book/author/character that begins with X)

Y is for Brenna Yovanoff’s The Replacement

Z is for Zevin’s All These Things I’ve Done

Leave a Reply

