Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wish Were Taught in Schools

securedownload(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The above photo was taken by me*.)

I was never one for the classics. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t forced to read as many as I should have in high school. Maybe it’s because I can’t connect to them on some level. Whatever the case may be I wish that school’s would teach some modern-day, young adult literature. And if I had my way these are the top ten books I wish were taught in schools today:

1. Splintered by A.G. Howard – a great read-along to Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

2. Eleanor & Park – quite frankly, it’s just a darn good read, that touches on very realistic subjects.

3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – do I really need to explain why this should be taught in schools?!

4. Keep Holding On by Susane Colasanti – Bullying is at an all time high it seems. The world could benefit from more books that shows readers and the world the effects – physically, mentally, and emotionally – of bullying.

5. Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley – it’s full of yummy recipes and I think it would fit into a home economics type class.

6. Endangered by Eliot Schrefer –  a smart, emotional book that I feel readers will gain a sense of what life is like in a war-torn country.

7. The Fire Horse Girl by Kay Honeyman – a really great historical fiction that focuses on a time period and a subject that I feel goes overlooked in the history text books: the Chinese immigration into America.

8. Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley – it’s a book that will drum up a lot of questions and will provoke us to question, not only the world around us, but how we view the world.

9. Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes – I think this would just be cool to teach in a biology class to show students that changes that happen to our bodies as we grow.

10. Revolution by Jennifer Donnellly – another great historical read to teach readers about the French Revolution.

(*The above picture was taken and altered by me. Please do NOT steal it. If you want to use it for whatever reason, please ask and give credit first. Thank You!)

 

Posted in: Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wish Were Taught in Schools

  1. Ashley Mullins says:

    I did not think about adding Splintered at all. grr that is a good idea and extremely obvious. I cant wait for Unhinged.

    Also I love your TTT picture, I fail at adding in pictures for my posts.

    Ashley
    Books Buying Beauty
    @Bookz4Nerdz

Leave a Reply

