Read – a – Thon … of Sorts Update # 3

Hello Readers!

There’s a hitch in my plan!

But before we get into the hitch, let’s talk about basic updates!

It’s August 16th and I am officially sixteen days into my read – a – thon challenge. I have to say, up until this point I think I’ve been doing well. I’ve nixed the whole 100 pages a day bit. Why? Well, honestly it is just too much for me. I have a full-time job, a life, and quite frankly I like to sleep. Besides that, I’m in the midst of physically and mentally preparing myself for my very first overseas adventure. So there’s a lot going on!

But!

I’m three and a half books down at this point. In a mere sixteen days I cannot believe that I actually read three and a half (!) books! Especially considering one of the last books I’ve read took me almost an entire month to read (I’m not saying which book, since it will be reviewed at some point or another in due time). To recount I’ve read:

Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan
Falling In Love With English Boys by Melissa Jensen
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
and am currently just over halfway through with my top-secret read (which I’ll have you know if close to four hundred pages!)

Speaking of the top-secret read, I’ve decided to have a bit of fun with you, my dear readers. Below is a picture of a small portion of the cover. If anyone could identify/guess the title and/or author I will tell you what my top-secret read it – but I will not tell you why I am reading it (besides the fact that so far, it’s a pretty darn good read!)

photo-2

Moving right along …..

Now onto the hitch! My good friend and fellow blogger Miss Print and I have decided that we should join forces and do a synchronized read. Kind of like synchronized swimming minus the water and swim suits … and the theatrics. I don’t want to let myself, my readers, and my self-imposed read – a – thon down. But I really, really want to synchronize read with Miss Print.  Mainly because we’re BFFs and it would be fun and all, but partly  because of the book: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell! (You don’t know it, readers, since I haven’t written my review of Eleanor & Park (yet! I’m still working it all out), but I absolutely adore Ms. Rowell! So Fangirl is a definite priority. )

You’re wondering what am I going to do? Do I read Fangirl in place of my last read – a – thon book, which by the way is Robin Wasserman’s Lust? Nope! As I was trying to figure out what to do I thought to myself – it’s a bit crazy, a bit unconventional, and knowing myself will probably be a bit confusing – but why not read two at one time?!?
So there you have it readers, the update and the hitch in the original plan. I’m not sure how reading two books at once will play out, but I’m going to give it a go. (True story, when I was in Grad school it was completely normal for me to read at least two books at one time. Looking back I haven’t a clue as to what I read, so I’ve done away with that since graduating.)

I feel like I’ve been talking way too much about what I’m reading. Readers, what are you reading?

Leave a Reply

