Book of the Week: If You Want to See a Whale

Book of the Week, Children's

If You Want to See a Whale by Julie Fogliano Illustrated by Erin E. Stead

Published: 2013 by Roaring Brook Press

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

There’s a surprise hidden beneath the dust jacket. The actual book is blue material, and has a whale emblazoned on it! So pretty!

I’m a big fan of creatures that live in the sea, so I knew from the start that me and this book would be a match made in book heaven!

I love the use of green and blue through out the book. It really does give the book a very ocean-y feel.

Not to brag or anything, but my copy of this book is signed by the one, the only, the illustrator Erin E. Stead. I’m such a fan of hers!

I know I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again, books with nameless characters, I think, are great. Why? Because, I feel, that it allows for readers to step into the shoes of the character.

There are many ways to see a whale.

FIrst you need to sit by a window that is looks out into the vast expanse of the sea.

I like that the water in this book is referred to as “sea” instead of ocean.

There’s a dog in the book. I’m a real sucker for dogs in books.

The dog plays the crucial role of sidekick.

Waiting to see a whale means there will be a lot of waiting involved.

While waiting you can wonder, you can pass time, you can even mistake teeny-tiny birds for whales.

Whale watching, or rather waiting to see a whale can make one very sleepy. To remedy this, make sure to sit in a “not-so-comfy chair.”

There will always be obstacles in trying to see a whale. Roses get in the way – showy roses who don’t like whales because … well they aren’t pink, and they don’t smell sweet.

Beware of the roses, they will distract you.

What’s that? A pirate ship, you say! Well there will not be any whales there. I can guarantee it!

Did you know that pelicans smile? I didn’t know that before reading this book.

I love how this book really does ignite the reader’s imaginations.

Even though you really shouldn’t whale watch in the clouds, you may find a few whales (and other sea creatures for that matter) floating above.

Sometimes you have to look down, not out, in order to see a whale.

And other times, the whale will see you!

I loved the writing in this book. Author Julie Fogliano’s writing is strong, lyrical, and elegant.

Besides the words I also (obviously) loved the pictures! They are the perfect companions to the words.

I think this book would make a great bed time story.

I’m very happy to have this book in my own, personal library!