I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls #1) by Ally Carter

852470

The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women isn’t what it appears to be. Located in Roseville, Virginia the stonewall enclosed school appears, from the outside looking in, nothing more than a prep school for the uber rich and privileged.

But from the inside, to the young ladies who actually attend The Gallagher Academy, it’s a just an average school where girls can learn the basics: advanced martial arts, chemical warfare, and how to break the toughest CIA codes.

The Gallagher Academy for Exception Young Women obviously isn’t a typical high school. It’s a school where young ladies and future leaders of tomorrow train to be top-notch, top-secret spies.

Cammie Morgan is a Gallagher girl, and one that possesses a very unique ability: she can disappear. In high pressure situations, like the one her Covert Operations assignment of trailing one of her teachers, Cammie slips by, unscathed and unseen.

That is, until a tall, dark-haired stranger spots Cammie.

The Gallagher Academy has prepared Cammie and her friends for almost every unthinkable situation. But the more she gets to know Josh – the tall, dark-haired stranger – the more Cammie realizes the Gallagher Academy has prepared her for her first love.

Will Cammie survive? Or will her emotions blow her average girl cover and reveal her true spy identity?

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You written by author Ally Carter is book number one in the Gallagher Girl Series.

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You has everything a reader could want, and so much more. Genre wise, Carter’s first book in this series has a touch of mystery, a sprinkling of romance, and above all things a healthy dose of action-packed adventure.

Carter’s writing is stellar. What makes it so is the conversational ease it seems to have. Told from main character Cammie Morgan’s perspective, I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You feels as if it’s a fantastical story that one of your best and oldest girlfriends in telling you at a Saturday night sleepover.

Main character Cammie is the kind of girl everyone wants to be friends with! The kind of girls that readers will instantly understand, sympathize with, and root for. She’s spunky, she’s honest, but above all things she’s a true heroine!

Cammie may be the leading lady of I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You, but there are many character that fill the pages of this book that are outstanding. All the girls are one hundred percent kick butt!

Even though I really did love the plot, the writing, and the characters, there was one thing I didn’t enjoy. The audio version of I’d Tell You I Love, But Then I’d Have to Kill You. I didn’t love or enjoy the narrator’s often forced accents. Southern accents ended up sounding a lot like midwestern ones. And British accents ended up sound like Southern accents. It just felt … well, fake.

But the audio version didn’t deter me from really enjoying the story as a whole. And it surely didn’t deter me from continuing on in the Gallagher Girls series.

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You is the kind of story that celebrates women, both young and old. It truly capture the sentiment of girl power!

Leave a Reply

