Book of the Week: Flora and the Flamingo

Flora and the Flamingo by Molly Idle

Published: 2013 by Chronicle Books

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

There’s so much pink! I love it!

I admit, I haven’t heard much of this book, until I saw someone reading it across the room. I got a glimpse of the illustrations, and just knew that this was a book I wanted to feature here on the blog.

“Friendship is a beautiful dance.”

Before reading this, I never realized how graceful flamingos could be. Before I just thought they were a bunch of pretty, yet often loud, birds.

Flora and the Flamingo is a wordless book, one that relies on the illustrations to tell the story.

I love how this book shows that friendships can be forged anywhere and with anyone.

Little Flora imitates the graceful flamingo with poise and precision. When the flamingo stands proudly on one leg, so does Flora.

Flora wears flippers and a yellow bathing cap. Quite frankly, she’s adorable!

This book features pull down flaps, where readers can uncover “hidden” illustrations.

The flamingo flaps, Flora flaps. The flamingo doesn’t appear to be amused with Flora’s antics.

Flora becomes very sad when she realizes, although she can do most everything the flamingo can do, she can’t do everything.

Personally, I don’t like to see Flora sad. The flamingo doesn’t either.

To make her happy, the flamingo invites little Flora to dance.

Together the graceful pair sway and shimmy across the page.

Through the intricate dance the two becomes friends.

When the dance is done, the two leap into a giant pool of water, splashing and laughing.

Friends will always keep you laughing.

I really appreciated the use of white space throughout the book.

The illustrations are simple, yet the speak volumes!

I love how each page has the illustration of a cherry blossom.

Flora and the Flamingo is an elegant book. It’s sophisticated, it’s whimsical, but above all things, it’s a books that children will love to read.

Speaking of the illustrations, they are created with precision. They are simply beautiful.

I love how this book doesn’t underestimate children and their reading abilities.

I love how this book really sparks one’s imagination.

It’s the kind of book that I personally want to own, and keep in my own personal library.

Both children and adults who read Flora and the Flamingo will love and cherish this book.

 

Leave a Reply

