2012: A Year in Review

It’s that time of year again. The time of year where I post my top ten lists.

2012 was a record year for reading, at least for me it was. I’ve read some really great books, and I’ve read some not so great book (at least in my opinion). This year I decided to change things up a bit. I decided that I wouldn’t limit or restrict my top ten lists to books only published in 2012, instead any book I read during this year would be fair game.

So without further adieu, here’s my best of/worst of 2012 lists:

Top Ten Teen Books:

10. The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron

9. Perception by Kim Harrington

8. The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

7. Keep Holding On by Susane Colasanti

6. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvate

5. The Best Night of Your (Pathetic) Life by Tara Altebrando

4. Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley

3. Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

2. The Diviners by Libba Bray

And, my number 1 book of 2012 is ….

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Because I read so many great books, and had a VERY difficult time narrowing down this list, there are, of course, several honorable mentions:

The Curiosities by Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff

False Memory by Dan Krokos

The Queen of Kentucky by Alecia Whitaker

Winter Town by Stephen Emond

Top Ten Children’s Books

10. Little Own’s Night by Divya Srinivasan

9. Dangerously Every After by Dashka Slater

8. Odd Dog by Claudia Boldt

7. Boy + Bot by Ame Dychman

6. Virginia Wolf by Kyo Maclear

5. Blackout by John Rocco

4. Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett

3. Stuck by Oliver Jeffers

2. Vampirina Ballerina by Ann Marie Pace

1. The Insomniacs by Karina Wolf

Honorable Mentions:

The Monster’s Monster by Patrick McD0nnell

The Cloudspinner by Michael Catchpool

 

So even though I didn’t reach my reading goal, and I slacked off with blog posts (which I promise you readers, I will not do in 2013) I did read a lot of great books. And here’s hoping to many more great ones in 2013!

 

Leave a Reply

