Book of the Week: Boy + Bot

Boy + Bot by Ame Dyckman Illustrated by Dan Yaccarino

Published: 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

Robots warm my heart. I kinda love them.

I love the simplicity of this book. It doesn’t need to rely on flashy writing or flashy images to entice readers. Instead it relies on a greatly written story with illustration that bring the story to life.

This is a story about friends.

Young readers will learn, through this book, that friends come in all shapes, sizes, and colors. They’ll also learn that those things – shapes, sizes, and colors – do not matter in a relationship.

I love th end papers. They explain all the things that boy and bot like to do. And who they are. Bot needs fuel to quench his thirst Boy needs juice!

These two friends REALLY know how to have fun. They like to collect pinecones, skip rocks, rolling down hills, and much more.

I love how this book shows that real friends are there for each other through thick and thin, good and bad.

When Boy thinks Bot is sick he takes him home to nurse him back to health. He feeds him applesauce, reads a good book to him, and tucks him in for the night.

And when Bot thinks that Boy is sick he takes him back to the Inventor’s lab he oils Boy, reads to him, and gets a new battery for him.

Turns out both were just sleeping, they weren’t sick!

I love the inventor’s little sidekick. I’m not one hundred percent certain of what it actually is, but it appears to be a lightbulb with one unblinking eye and four spider-like legs.

This book also shows how, not only do friends come in different shapes, sizes, and colors, but so do families. Each family is unique.

Bots family is his inventor and this little lightbulb creature. Boys family is a mother and father.

The friends spend lots of time laughing and having fun.

I particularly love how Boy draws a picture of Bot and posts it to his refrigerator. Bot draws a picture of Boy and posts it to … well himself.

I love the photo strip illustrations of Boy and Bot. Not only are they cute, but I personally love photo booths.

I love the last picture in the book: it’s Boy and Bot walking through the forest were they first met, walking hand in hand.

I love how this book is short, sweet, and to the point. It shows that picture books don’t need to thick volumes in order to teach a lesson.

I loved Ame Dyckman’s writing. It’s smart, inviting, and imaginative. Everything I look for in a picture book.

The illustrations are great. I love the use of white space, and the bright colors. Little kids will absolutely love this book.

 

Leave a Reply

