Book of Week: Red Knit Cap Girl

Red Knit Cap Girl by Naoko Stoop

Published: 2012 by Little Brown

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

Red Knit Cap Girl is super cute! I loved her from the moment I saw her.

There’s a sense of curiosity and wonder within the pages of this book.

I love how the moon’s referred to as “her”. No man in the moon cliché here!

Red Knit Cap Girl wonders how she could get closer to the luminous moon. She sets out and tries climbing tree branches, trying to poke it with a long stick, etc..

She’s one clever gal.

All of her friends are forest creatures. Among them area white bunny with oversized floppy ears and a pointy-nosed hedgehog (that I just want to squeeze).

There’s an old wise owl. I love how the owl isn’t only portrayed as knowledgeable but as stoic.

I love how determined Red Knit Cap Girl is. She’s a great character for young readers to look up to.

All of her furry forest friends help make Red Knit Cap Girl’s wish to talk to the moon come true.

I love how this aspect shows the lengths true friends will go through for one another.

This is one sophisticated book.

Red Knit Cap Girl is very skilled at origami. From mere paper she creates three-dimensional paper lanterns. And why? All in the hopes of luring the moon to her since it’s so very far away.

When readers finally see the lady of the moon, she’s spectacularly beautiful.

This is the kind of book I want in my own personal collection.

This book is as much for adults as it is for children.

The writing is simple, engaging, and smart. I love the tone and the pace of this book.

The illustrations are rich, inviting, and beyond that gorgeous.

I think book shows readers of all ages that importance of dreams and dreaming. With that, I think it also shows that if you believe in something hard enough and you’re determined enough, dreams really do come true.

Leave a Reply

