Book of the Week: The Cloud Spinner

The Cloud Spinner by Michael Catchpool Illustrated by Alison Jay

Published: 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

I love how this book just popped out to me from the library shelf. Almost calling me.

This is an understated story, but it speaks volume.

Main characters are important, and in this book, the clouds are some of the main characters.

The Cloud Spinner is a story with a magical feel. Starting off readers will just know that this is going to be a special story.

All of the colors featured within the pages of this book are all earth tones. Which is important because, I feel, it tells that this is as earthy story.

I love how the hill in which the main character, the little cloud spinner, lives upon has a face. And it’s smiling! I love how this illustration alone  welcomes readers into the story.

This story reminded me of one of my favorite stories, Rumpelstiltskin, or at least the whole straw to gold aspect of it. In this case clouds to thread.

I love that there’s a loom in this book. It shows, not the magical side, but the technical side of the story.
This book also shows the importance of traditions and keeping those traditions alive. For example, the boy’s mother has taught him how to weave, and how not to take advantage of the clouds and the natural resources.

I love the king’s horse, it’s speckled and kind of egg shaped. It makes me laugh.

What makes me laugh even more is the king himself, he’s even more egg-shaped than his speckled horse.

The book shows the importance of seeing the error in your ways.

Nothing good comes from being greedy.

The little cloud spinner is a hard worker.

I love how this story has a bit of science woven into the plot. With no clouds left in the sky, there’s no rain. And with no rain, the animals are thirsty and the crops are drying up.

I love how all the illustrations have a faint crackle over them. I think it shows how dry the land is because of the lack of rain.

The writing is outstanding. The illustrations are beautiful. Both relying on one another to make one amazing picture book.

I feel that as much as children will love and appreciate this book, adult readers will love and appreciate it even more.

This would make a great bedtime story.

I love how the young princess is smart, witty, and doesn’t rely on her father’s power. She’s a real leader. And unlike the King isn’t materialistic.

This book also shows that two unlikely people can be the best of friends.

Rain is important to the land and the people of the land.

Leave a Reply

