Book of the Week: Question Boy Meets Little Miss Know-It-All

Question Boy Meets Little Miss Know-It-All by Peter Catalanotto

Published: 2012 by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

I love that this picture book had a comic/graphic novel feel to it.

From the start until the very end there’s a sense of adventure.

This book shows how two seemingly similar children are actually vastly different. To me, this is important, it shows how everyone is unique and has their own personality. As adults we shouldn’t urge kinds to conform, but we should push them to stand out, to be their own person.

I love question boy. He’s not afraid to ask a question (or ten). He reminds me a lot of myself.

Both Question Boy and Little Miss Know-It-All are relatable characters. Both children and adults will find a little bit of themselves within these great characters.
I think this book clearly illustrates how (some, not all) adults response to being asked a lot of questions: ignore the questions all together, or say they don’t know.

I love how every character in the book from the “Wonder” waitress to the paper boy is dressed in full superhero gear.

Like comics/graphic novels, this text is made up of a lot of dialog.

I love the questions that Question Boy asks: could the whole moon fit in a garbage truck? Where exactly is the oil tank?

The moment Question Boy meets Little Miss Know-It-All is like the classic meeting of two rivals.

I love how Little Miss Know-It-All’s superhero costume is a pink tutu and a tiara.

Little Miss Know-It-All isn’t afraid or ashamed to be her know-it-all self.

She can answer all of Question Boy’s questions, all except one, which is her kryptonite: why?

Other, adult characters, seem to get annoyed with Little Miss Know-It-All, but I appreciated how smart she was.

I love how this two rivals, join forces. The world will be a better place for this union.

I love the lush colors that fill this picture book. Even though they are subdued, they make the illustrations pop.

The writing is quick and sharp.

I love how this story grabs your attention from the very start of the book.

This book shows the important of, not only friendship, but teamwork.

This is a great book, for children (obviously) but also for us kids at heart. Honestly, it made me wish there were books like this when I was little.

Leave a Reply

