Book of the Week: The Rumor

The Rumor by Monique Felix

Published: 2011 by Creative Solutions

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t pick up this book solely for the cover. I love the newspaper clippings. Let’s just say it speaks to the journalist that lives inside of me.

I also love how this cover doesn’t give anything about the book away. It’s all kind of mysterious.

I wish the book’s end papers were the same as the cover – full of newspaper clippings.

I love how this story reminded me of other classic stories – Chicken Little, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, and The Boy Who Called Wolf.

It reminds me of Chicken Little because of the main character – a little rabbit name Rupert – who warns the others of the impending doom. It reminds me of Goldilocks because of the Big Bad Wolf. And it reminds me of The Boy Who Cried Wolf because Rupert literally cries “wolf”.

I love how this book clearly illustrates how rumors get started and how they often get blown out of proportion.

This book also reminds me of childhood game, Telephone.

The illustrations match the text perfectly. For example, when Chloe the cat is telling Edgar the elephant that there’s a wolf lurking around just waiting to “tear your ears into ribbons” Chloe is shown with fun standing up on end, claws extended, and eyes wild. It sounds a lot scarier than it really is.

Each animal tells the next that the wolf is going to do something to a part of them they hold special. In Edgar the Elephant’s case it’s his ears.

Some of the animal characters wear clothes and some do not. Kind of like Pluto and Goofy, both are dogs, but only one wears clothes (and talks).

Each character in this book plays an important role within the story. Another book that illustrates team work.

This book shows what happens when imagination gets the best of you, but not in a good way.

I feel that this is a good book to discuss fear, and how it affects us.

There’s an apparent sense of humor hidden within Felix’s writing. Reader’s will know this towards the end of the book, when we’re introduced to Wallace – a wolf – that is a vegetarian.

The Rumor isn’t just about rumors and how they spread, but it’s also about friendship, and how sticking together in the best and worst of times is important.

I love how the characters are all various animals. You know me and talking animal characters.

I love how the alligator wears a bathing suit.

Felix’s writing is sharp. She doesn’t beat around the bush, but instead is a straight shooter who tells a solid story.

The illustrations that fill the book are soft, almost subdued, even though there’s trouble in the air.

One does not outweigh the other – the illustrations and the writing work together to bring this book to life.

Leave a Reply

