Book of the Week: Extra Yarn

Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett Illustrated by Jon Klassen

Published: 2012 by  Balzer & Bray

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

I love how soft-spoken this book is. It’s not full of flashy images, proving that all children need is a great, solid story to enjoy reading.

I love how the colors of the book go from muted before main character Annabelle found the yarn filled box, to lively after uncovering it’s wonderous insides.

It shows children the joys of crafting.

Knitting is a craft of the past that is quickly making a comeback. I like how this book proves that.

This book makes me want to learn to knit, to learn to do something new, interesting, and fun.  It also reminds me of my best friend who has discovered knitting and loves it!

This book shows kids that possibilities are endless – and not just when it comes to knitting.

Main character Annabelle is a giving person. She doesn’t just knit sweaters for herself and her faithful dog, Mars , but she goes on to knit something for everyone and everything in her small town.

With her knitted wear Annabelle single-handedly brightens up the town.

I love how this book has a villain – it’s a true good versus evil kind of story.

No matter how much she’s offered Annabelle refuses to give up the box of yarn. I love how this shows children to stand their ground, and never give up on something you love.

It also shows that money can’t buy everything you want and need in this life.

For me, as a reader, the yarn-filled box represents everlasting love and happiness. That’s why when the villain archduke steals it, he does not get what he wants.

The writing is spectacular. Readers can see the imagination it took to create such a great storyline.

The illustrations are the perfect complement to the writing. They really bring the story to life.

I love how the writing and the illustrations complement each other, one never outshining the other. But equally working together.

I loved how even though this was a children’s picture book, it was smart and mature. It doesn’t underestimate children.

This book is as much for adults as it is children.  It’s the kind of book I would love to own and include in my own personal collection.

I especially love the very last image on the very last page. Not only are all the animals wearing a knitted sweater but so is the tree they are sitting upon.

Leave a Reply

