Book of the Week: Little Owl’s Night

Book of the Week, Children's

Little Owl’s Night by Divya Srinivasan

Published: 2011 by Viking Juvenile

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

Let me point out the main character is a cute, tiny owl. I LOVE owls. Am slightly obsessed with them.

I love that the end papers  ath the beginning of the book portray a raccoon (at night), the wildlife bandit himself, stealing from an orange slumbering squirrel. The end papers at the end of the book portray that same orange squirrel stealing back his acorns from the now slumbering racoon.

Apparently, I love books where animals are the main characters.

Little owl is beyond adorable. His eyes are bigger than the rest of his body.

I love how little owl is care-free.

This book shows the importance of appreciating the world around us, just like Little Owl does.

I love Srinivasan’s description of all the animals and their nightly activities: the possum’s waddle, the fireflies dance while the beaver’s gnaw.

Little Owl is curious.  I think this aspect of him shows the importance of being curious, and the importance of asking questions. Both questioning and being curious help us learn.

I love how this book gives readers a glimpse into the lives of wild animals. I feel like author Srinivasan has hit the nail on the head.

Even though this is a fictional picture book, I love how realistic this book is. Realistic besides the talking animals that is.

I love how this book shows the importance of being active.

The book is set at night, and as the story progresses daylight is swiftly dawning.

I love how simple this book is. I think it shows that things don’t have to be overdone to be enjoyable.

I’m a big fan of, not only owls, but also bats. In this book the bats are portrayed in a very vampire-esque way. Little fangs and when their wings are spread it looks like they are wearing capes.

I love Mama Owl’s description of how night ends: “The moon and stars fade to ghosts, Spiderwebs turn to silver threads. Dewdrops sparkle on leave and grass like tiny stars come down. Moonflowers close and mornin glories open. The sky brightens from black to blue, blue to red, red to gold […] .”

Morning glories are beautiful, and I love that they have a plae in this book.

The writing is simply beautiful, lyrical even. That’s what really struck me about this book, especially the description above.

 

The illustrations are bold.

Leave a comment