Book of the Week: Grandpa Green

Grandpa Green by Lane Smith

Published: 2011 by Roaring Book Press

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

The color green is one of my most favorite colors.

Words can’t describe just how creative this book is – from the plot line to the illustrations.

I love how this story is about a little boy who recounts the life of his great-grandfather. I think this book makes all readers think about those special people in their lives, especially their grandpa’s and great-grandpa’s.

All milestones are accounted for – from growing up on a farm, having the chicken pox, reading classic stories of wizards and secret gardens, and even his first kiss.

I love how reading classic books was included as an important milestone. I feel like that tiny aspect really shows just how important books are in our own personal lives, and in our society.

A sense of whimsy filled readers as they read along.

I love how this book illustrates the power of storytelling.

I also love how this book show the importance of memories – creating them and sharing them.

All the illustrations, with the exception of the nameless great-grandson telling the story, are of topiary trees.

I particularly love the Wizard of Oz topiary trees.

The text is sharp, short, and strong.

This book makes me wish I had a green thumb instead of a black one.

In its own way, this book is really inspiriting to readers of all ages.

There’s an illustration about three pages in, of a tree-lined path, that reminds me of one of my favorite spots in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Because this book is short and sweet, it holds readers attention.

Another illustration that stands out to me, and that I found moving was the topiary depictions of war: there are plants/flowers in bursting shades of red. I feel that that really did represent war and all it means.

I love how this book shows that everything changes and progresses over time. Nothing and no one is ever stationary.

Even though his great-grandfather is “pretty old” he’s got spunk – after all he did create all those topiary trees.

I loved how as I was reading this I started recalling my favorite memories involving me and both of my grandfather’s.  It makes me realize just how lucky I am to have such memories.

I love the cover art.

The book flows well. Both the writing and the illustration work well together.

Leave a Reply

