Book of the Week: The Library Ghost

The Library Ghost by Carole Boston Weatherford Illustrated by Lee White

Published: 2008 by Upstart Books

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

It’s a book about ghosts and libraries. What more does a reader want and need?!

If you haven’t guessed it already, I LOVE libraries! And this book is about a library.

The text rhymes, we all know by now how I flock to books like this.

I love how famed characters like Peter Pan, the Mad Hatter, Rapunzel and even Rumpelstiltskin are mentioned within the book.

I love how this book shows how libraries and research has changed – moving from using strictly books as resources to technology.

I really liked how this book involved a ghost, but is not a Halloween book. With that, I also like how this book shows young children that just because a ghost is the main character does not mean the story is going to be scary, but rather fun.

In a way, this book was a mystery. The readers will keep guessing as to why Ms. Hall isn’t resting in peace.

Ms. Hall, the ghost librarian, looks like a stereotypical librarian: half glasses, a bun atop her head, high collared shirt, etc.. I like it.

I think this book shows the importance of team work. When Ms. Hall can’t figure something out, she and librarian Ms. Mims work together to solve the riddle.

I also love how this book shows that everyone needs help at some point, and one shouldn’t be ashamed or too proud to ask for it. Who knows, maybe reaching out to someone will lead to a new friendship.

It also shows that friends come in all different shapes, sizes, and obviously forms.

I love how the illustrations give a haunting, almost gothic feel.  Illustrated in rich shades of reds, blues, and vintage like yellows, it really sets the mood and tone of the book.

The writing is solid yet whimsical.

Ms. Mims is a take charge kind of librarian.

She’s also smart, quick thinking, and courageous. I think she sets a great example for all readers.

I like to think that this book shows the importance of books. Ms. Mims prizes her books, so much so that she sets out to find out who’s making a mess of the library when she isn’t there.

A librarians job is never done, even after closing.

Ms. Hall, the ghost, is determined. She shows young readers the importance of never giving up on anything big or small.

I thought this book was an original read that readers of all ages could appreciate. I know I appreciated it.

One thought on “Book of the Week: The Library Ghost

Leave a Reply

