Book of the Week: Wag

Wag by Patrick McDonnell

Published: 2009 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

The author didn’t just write this awesome book, but is also the writer of Mutts Comics!

The dog’s name is Earl…great name for a dog (if you ask me).

I wish I had a dog like Earl.

I love books about dogs, especially when the dog is the main character.

McDonnell has captured the exact sound a dog’s tail makes when it’s wagging excitedly – “fwip, fwip, fwip.”

I love how this book is about finding what makes us happy. Even if what makes us happy is simple.

I love how it shows how dogs are generally happy animals. Earl is a very happy dog. He’s tail wags when he sits in a field, when it snows, when his belly’s rubbed, and when he eats.

I love how the message of this book is simple: love.

It’s a simple story, and well written. The illustrations though really make this book come alive.

This book doesn’t just feature Earl, but two other lovable characters: Mooch and Jules.

 

 

Leave a Reply

