Book of the Week: A Pet for Petunia

A Pet for Petunia by Paul Schmid

Published: 2011 by HarperCollins

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

I love the name character’s name: Petunia. Mainly because it’s what my grandmother calls me.

Petunia is an unusual girl, and I love her for it! And she’s as cute as a button!

She loves skunks! And wants one as a pet.

I love how it shows the lengths children will go to to convince their parents to get them what they want. In Petunia’s case a pet skunk. She even goes as far as saying “I’ll die if I don’t have a pet skunk.”

I love how this book made me laugh, not at the obvious, but the thought that kept running through my head as I read it. Petunias (the flower) smell nice, while skunks smell … well, not so nice.

Her parents are called “lunkheads” not someone a child should be calling their parents (cause it’s not nice), but it certainly is funny.

I love how this books shows the a child’s reasoning. Petunia thinks if she lives in the woods she’ll get eaten by a bear, therefore her parents will feel so bad that they’ll be forced to get her a skunk.

I love the purple accents in the book. And this is saying a lot since I am not a fan of the color purple.

I love how it shows kids how even though an animal is cute doesn’t mean they’ll make good pets.

It shows how sometimes kids need to learn things the hard way and for themselves.

I love Petunia’s reaction when she finally meets a real, living, breathing, stinking skunk.

I love all the same animals Petunia wants. And like her I often beg for a pet.

I love the illustrations featured in the book. They are charming, and really make this book what it is.

I love how it shows just how quickly a child’s mind can change from one thing to another.

I love the reasons Petunia gives for loving skunks: “they have cute little noses. They have big black eyes. They’re black and white, and they have stripes.” All the reasons to love a skunk.

It’s a really fun read, for both children and adults.

I love how I felt that there’s a little bit of Petunia in all of us while reading this book.

I also loved the smile it put on my face.

Leave a Reply

