Book of the Week: Spork

Spork by Kyo Maclear Illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault

Published by: Kids Can Press in 2010

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

The end papers are darling. They remind me of the tabletop of a 50s diner. As a Jersey girl, I love diners.

Spork isn’t only a fun word, it’s a fun utensil and a very character for a picture book.

It’s true sporks aren’t often used. They are underrated, and this book makes me want to change that.

It shows that everything and everyone has a purpose in this life. No one and nothing is ever worthless.

I think it shows readers how we all feel awkward and out-of-place at times, and that it’s very normal to feel that way.

I love how it shows that we are products of our families, and that families come in different sizes and shapes.

I love how it shows the importance of feeling loved. And needed.

I love how spork tries, rather unsuccessfully, to change his spork-ness. He wears a bowler hat to make him to accentuated his spoonish features. When that doesn’t work, he makes himself a pointy paper crown to than accentuate his forkish features.

He looks cute, but funny is a bowler.

I love how it shows that you shouldn’t have to change who you are to make people like you. The important thing to remember is if you like you.

Spork is unique, and uniqueness should be celebrated.

I love how the crazed creature, flinging food all over, is really a baby. I feel like it’s a pretty accurate depiction.

I love the muted colors of this book. And how bold colors are used to prove a point, or to show emotion.

The writing is simple, direct, and fun.

I love how all the utensils have faces. I feel kids would eat more if this was true of real forks and spoons.

I love sporks perception of what dinnertime is: “at dinnertime, he watched from the drawer while the spoons played pea hockey and skillfully balanced boiled eggs. He sat off to the side while the forks raked fancy patterns in the mashed potatoes and twirled noodles around in complicated circles like rhythmic gymnasts.”

I love how spork by the end realizes that he’s just right, and doesn’t need to be changed.

I love books about utensils. Especially ones that are so humanistic.

Leave a Reply

