Book of the Week: Umbrella

Umbrella by Taro Yashima

Published: 1977 by Puffin

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

Loved how it shows how the smallest things could make a child happy.

Japanese is infused into every aspect of the story. I especially love how there are Japanese words and characters on almost every page. I think this is a great way to teach children a new language and about a different culture.

I love all the colors featured in the book. They’re bold and bright, but not flashy.

I love how this book shows how patient children can be one minute, but impatient only moments later.

I love how most people can’t stand the rain, but not Momo, she can’t wait for the rain.

Momo is a sweet character, but in some pictures is portrayed of having black eyes – completely black. It’s a bit creepy, but I love that.

There’s a repetitive portion to the book mimicking the sound of raindrops on Momo’s umbrella, I really like this because I think children will definitely want to sing along and mimic the sounds they hear. It’s fun.

It shows that even though we may not remember every important step in our lives, there will always be someone who does.

The writing is simple, as is the storyline. I like how this makes it easy for kids of all ages to understand and enjoy.

Even though the writing is solid, the illustrations really fuel the story forward.

I love my rain boots just as much as Momo loves hers.

 

Leave a Reply

