Book of the Week: Amos & Boris

Amos & Boris by William Steig

Published: 1973 by Farrar, Straus, and Giroux

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

From the very beginning readers will be able to tell this isn’t going to be a typical story about a mouse.

I love how Amos the mouse lives by the ocean, not in a typical hole in the wall.

I love how Amos doesn’t let his size stop him from doing something.

It shows what hard work, determination, and a little bit of knowledge can get you. All these things have helped him, not only build a ship, but set sail upon the ocean he loves so much.

I love how Amos names his boat Rodent. It’s appropriate and hysterically funny!

I love how Amos and I have something in common: both of us get seasick.

I love how this book shows readers the enjoyment of being outside, and taking advantage of all that nature offers us.

The book is well written, and features words that most picture books wouldn’t dare feature. Readers will definitely learn something from it.

I love how this book shows how vastly big this world is, and how often we take that for granted.

This book is extremely insightful.

It shows that friends could be made in the most unlikely places – even in the middle of the ocean in Amos’ case.

Even though Amos and Boris are both mammals, it shows how they are vastly different.

It shows why it’s important to compromise and to work together.

I love how it shows that friends come is all shapes and sizes. Friendship has no boundaries.

I love how Boris the whale is a big softy. He cries!

