Invasion

I thought I’d do something different for today’s poetry selection. I’m a music lover through and through. And often find lyrics to be as meaningful to me/my life as the many books I read. Stripped away from their musical accompaniment, song lyrics, for me, can often read like a poem.

I thought I’d feature a song/video today.

I’ve been listening to Eisley since their first full length, Room Noises, was released in 2005.  The first time I heard this band, I was swept away. From the music to the lyrics, everything seemed so magical and so meaningful. Their lyrics are works of art, full of creative imagery that only leaves listeners conjuring up these marvelous things they sing about.

Today, I’d thought I’d share one of my favorite songs, Invasion*, from the album Combinations.

Invasion by Eisley

“The colorless words are burning our heels as

the bright lights of the city fade

Taking the chase to curb our fear

as the bloodless moon casts its phase.

Ooh, something’s not right

I can feel it inside

Something’s not right.

And you – you – you- you, you would take the breath from my throat

And you – you – you – you, you would take the cherished people I hold.

All in time you

Will be one of us painless,

Us blameless

Go to sleep,

This won’t hurt a bit

Shifting your shape to our shells.

Ooh, something’s not right

I can feel it inside

Something’s not right.

And you – you – you- you, you would take the breath from my throat

And you – you – you – you, you would take the cherished people I hold.

And they will try to make us forget

Ourselves

One by one, one by one

Call me crazy, but they are after us

One by one, one by one

You don’t have to know the truth

If you believe, I believe it too

You don’t have to know the truth

If you believe, I believe it too.

Ooh, something’s not right

I can feel it inside

Something’s not right.

And you – you – you- you, you would take the breath from my throat

And you – you – you – you, you would take the cherished people I hold.”

*For some reason, I couldn’t post the Invasion video from YouTube, so if you click the “Invasion” like you will be directed to the video.

Leave a Reply

