New Feature: Way Back Wednesdays

While at the library yesterday I was aimlessly floating around the children’s room a random book caught my eye. It was a book I instantly recognized, or should say, a character I instantly recognized. Just picking up the book sent a surge of emotion through me – i instantly remembered how much I loved the character, the plot, everything really. And than out of nowhere it happened…the usually dim lightbulb hovering above my head sparked and lit up. Idea!

Way Back Wednesdays is going to be a new feature here on the blog! Twice a month on the first and last Wednesday of the month (meaning first two Way Back Wednesday post will be on February 2nd and February 23rd) a review of sorts will be posted about a book that I loved as a child, or a classic children’s book. Please understand, this will not be a long review, but it will not be like the Book of the Week reviews either. Way Back Wednesday reviews will only feature the title/author/published/publisher, my rating on a one to five scale, a one to two sentence summary of the plot, would I recommend it (either a yes or no), and a brief thought of why I loved/wanted to read it in the first place.

Example (this may or may not be a book featured):

Title: The Baby-Sitters Club: Kristy’s Great Idea

Author: Ann M. Martin

Published/Publisher: 1986 Scholastic

Rating: 4/5

Summary: After seeing her mother struggle to find a baby-sitter for her little brother Kristy decides to start a baby-sitting club with her fellow friends.

Recommendation: Yes

Brief Memory:  I remember trying to read The Baby-Sitters Club books when I was very little (like just starting to read age) because my older cousin would read them, and I thought it was cool to read “grown up” books like they were, or at least appeared to me from my child viewpoint.

I will also link to outside source where you could find further information about the book since I’m not going into as much detail as I could.

And since I’m on the topic of new features, I want to ask my readers out there (I know there has to be a few of you … somewhere. Hello? Are you there? Are you reading?) what other features you would like to see incorporated? I have a few other ideas up my sleeve, but will not reveal any of those sleeved ideas until it’s something I can officially pull off.  I fully intend to *try* to feature more author interviews,  more Book of the Week variations and reviews, more contests/giveaways, etc. But, if there’s a feature that you would love to see on The BookBandit blog please comment and let me know whatever ideas you have!

Leave a Reply

