Book Bucket List

There are many books that I feel, not only do I want to read, but I should read. For instance, the classics. I don’t particularly care for them mainly because I feel that they’re too drawn out, and overly descriptive. And never mind the language.  I also don’t particularly care for them because when I hear “classic novels” I automatically think “forced reading”. You see, the few classic novels I did read were for high school English classes, and I had to read them. I didn’t have a say in it, I simply had to read it and if I didn’t take the poor grade. Forced reading isn’t fun,  therefore the books that are forced aren’t going to be enjoyable.

But as a writer, reader, librarian, and blogger I feel that I  should read some of the classics. I’ve wanted to give them a second go, but find myself putting them off. That is, until now. YA Reads is hosting a Book Bucket List Challenge and I decided that this is the perfect way for me to read some of those book (which are not all “classics”) I’ve been meaning to read.

From YA Reads post:

Level 1: 4 books in 2011
Level 2: 8 books in 2011
Level 3: 12 books in 2011

Rules:

  • Books can be either YA or adult
  • Books don’t have to be 2011 releases.
  • Anyone can join. Please link to a public (web) place I can find you.
  • You can join at anytime. The challenge runs from now till to December, 2011
  • You are required to review the books if you want to enter the giveaway. The review can either be a proper review, or simply use the short template (see below)
  • You do not have to run a blog to participate, although there must be a public website where I can find you (Goodreads, LibraryThing, Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, Tumblr, etc)
    **Tip – if you link to Facebook, a good way to do it is to write a note or use the Visual Bookshelf application
  • Your blog does not have to be a book blog
  • If you enter with your blog link, you must post about the challenge so I may link.
  • Reviewers, the book can not be part of your review books that you would’ve read anyway, it defeats the whole purpose of the challenge.

Your review doesn’t have to be a full review if you do not wish to do so, instead, just use this template:

Book:

Rating: /5

Why did you include it to your Book Bucket List?:

Was it worth it?: Yes/No

Brief Thoughts?:
Would you recommend it?: Yes/No”

I am aiming to read eight books. I know that number doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of all the classics out there. My list isn’t only made up of classics, but books that I feel should be read (whether for reasons of my career, the book’s popularity, simple curiosity, etc), and even some that I really want to read. In no particular order my eight book bucket list is:

8. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

7. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

6. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

4. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

3. Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier

2.  Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews

1. The Shining by Stephen King

There it is…it’s definitely going to be a challenge, but a worthwhile one! If you too would like to participate head over the YA Reads and sign up! Good luck to all those participating in the challenge, and a big THANK YOU to YA Reads!

With that, I ask you readers, what are some books on your book bucket list.

One thought on “Book Bucket List

  1. Christina says:

    No, THANK YOU for joining!! That’s exactly how I feel about classics and seriously, you are brave to tackle so many of them.

    I crawled my way through Pride and Prejudice but Catcher in the Rye wasn’t too bad (but still not great). Harry Potter will be a breeze 😀

Leave a Reply

