On Top of Their Game

Obviously, I read a lot in 2010. I read a lot for school, but fortunately I also read a lot for pleasure. For whatever the reasons were for reading the books I did, I found there were books I absolutely loved, and there were others that I didn’t love quite as much, and in some cases didn’t love at all.

In the past I’ve been known to read and compare top/favorite book lists, but I’ve never actually posted my own top/favorite list. Why? Mainly because I love most books I come into contact with, and partly because I’m such an indecisive person. But, now that I have a place to post such a list I figured I would do just that.

Readers, not only will I post my top twenty books (ten young adult titles and ten children titles – which includes picture books as well as chapter books) but also my top twenty not so crazy about books* (again for both young adult and children).  The books on this list are not books that were necessarily released in 2010, but simply books I’ve read within the year. Please understand that these lists are 100% based upon my personal opinions, viewpoints, and tastes, but I do welcome (and look forward to) any comments, feedback, and opinions you may have.

Top 10 (Young Adult) of 2010:

10. Heist Society by Ally Carter

9. If I Stay by Gayle Forman 

8. Liar by Justine Larbalestier

7. Adios, Nirvana by Conrad Wesselhoeft

6. An Abundance of Katherine’s by John Green

5. The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy & Goth Girl by Barry Lyga

4. 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

3. The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancy

2. Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 1: Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Top 10 (Children’s) of 2010:

10. Imogene’s Last Stand by Candice Flemming

9. Holes by Louis Sachar

8. Stand Straight, Ella Kate by Kate Klise

7. Zorgamazoo by Robert Paul Weston

6. The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

5. Cinderella Skeleton by Robert D. San Souci

4. Presenting Tallulah by Tori Spelling

3. The Flight of the Phoenix: Nathaniel Fludd Beastologist by R. L. LaFevers

2. Spaceheadz by Jon Scieszka

1. The Red Umbrella by Christina Gonzalez

Top 10 (Young Adult) Not So Crazy About of 2010:

10. Black Box by Julie Schumacher

9. Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

8. The Morgue and Me by John C. Ford

7. This is What I Did by Ann Dee Ellis

6. Down the Rabbit Hole by Peter Abrahams

5. Nation by Terry Pratchett

4. The Glass Cafe by Gary Paulsen

3. What the Sea Wants by Tracey Bangheart

2. Cathy’s Book If Found Call (650)266-8233

1. In Search of Mockingbird by Loretta Ellswoth

Top 10 (Children’s) Not So Crazy About of 2010:

10. Once Upon a Twice by Denise Doyen

9. Dinosaur vs. Bedtime by Bob Shea

8. Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan

7. Goldilock’s Returns by Lisa Campbell Ernest

6. When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

5.  Just Grace by Charise Mericle Harper

4. Ghost Hunt by Jason Hawes

3. My Mom by Anthony Browne

2. The Popularity Papers by Amy Ignatow

1. The Clique by Lisi Harrison

*The books listed on the top  10 not so crazy about lists are there for several reasons. There are books on these lists that I did like superficially on the surface, however found several flaws that ultimately made the book fall short for me. There are other books that  feature characters that really annoyed me and because of that spoiled the entire book, other books I simply disliked for various reasons. Again, these lists are 100% my opinion, and they were not posted to offend or put down anyone – readers and writers alike. 

4 thoughts on “On Top of Their Game

  1. lola says:

    i’m curious why you didn’t like esperanza rising and when you reach me, both of which i loved. i have to read some of the other books. but i totally loved, LOVED, if i stay.

    • Nicole says:

      I didn’t like Esperanza Rising mainly because Esperanza completely annoyed me. I liked the overall storyline, and greatly appreciated the writing, but when all was said and done, I felt that, even after all the events I still found Esperanza annoying.

      I listened to the audio version of When You Reach Me. I thought maybe it was just because the narrator was so montone, but after thinking about it, this book just wasn’t my kind of book. For me, it was bland, slow moving, and found myself struggling to stay focused on it. I kept waiting for this big event to happen, and felt let down when it finally did.

  2. lolapaloozza says:

    i can see that. she was annoying, but i was glad to have a book out there where the hispanic character was not some poor person who crossed illegally but someone who had had wealth and then it was lost. because that story is actually very common there about people who leave and come here, and not only struggle with language, but doing things like cooking and cleaning that they would never have done at home.

    had you read a wrinkle in time? i think that is why i liked it so much.

    • Nicole says:

      I completely agree, I really appreciated the overall portrayal of their life and culture.

      I haven’t read a Wrinkle in Time. Never had the strong desire to, but maybe that’s why I didn’t really like or appreciate When You Reach Me.

Leave a Reply

