Book of the Week: Angus Lost

Angus Lost by Marjorie Flack

Published:  (Reprint) Farrar, Straus, and Giroux  1997

Reasons why I liked this book, and chose it as Book of the Week:

Marjorie Flack wrote one of my all time favorite children’s books The Story About Ping

I love the end papers showing Angus running, chasing, and jumping.

Angus is adorably cute!

It’s thought that only cats are curious animals, but Angus (a dog) proves that dogs too are curious creatures by nature. I liked how there were a lot of humanistic characteristics attributed to Angus – his boredom, his desires to go beyond the front gate, his fear when he gets lost, etc..

Angus is an adventure seeker. Not only that, but he’s a real thinker too.

I loved how, when  something was being emphasized the words were capitalized, not italicized. I think children reading this book will fully understand why certain words are capitalized and some aren’t.

I loved how the author related various animal sounds. For example, when Angus barked he “woof woofed” but when he met another dog, that dog “grrrruf grrrufed”. Still the goat he ran into “baa  baa-ed”, the car “honk honked”, the owl “whoo whoo-ed”, and the milk man “rattle rattle clink clinked.”

The illustrations varied – moving from black and white to full color.

Angus Lost is part of a three book series. I really liked this aspect because when this book was first published (in the early 1930s or so) it seemed that most children’s books were one shot books, not series (it’s seems more common place now).

Angus is a smart dog. When it begins to snow and he’s lost his way home he knows he needs to find shelter for the night and when he hears the milk man he knows to follow because he’ll lead him back home.

After reading this, especially the ending, it has a very Wizard of Oz feeling – there’s no place like home.

The colors used in the (colored) illustrations are vivid, bold, and really make them pop off the page. They perfectly compliment the text.

Angus, for a dog, is a real thinker.

Even though this has nothing to do with the actual text or plot of the book, I love how I have my very own copy and it was absolutely free! And it was all in thanks to library weeding.

2 thoughts on “Book of the Week: Angus Lost

  1. Heather Rosdol says:

    Wow! That is an in depth review for a children’s book! Is this a picture book? I can’t even remember a favorite picture book from my childhood. I remember Dr. Seuss and that’s it. Oh and Richard Scary. Let’s just say the people picking my books weren’t very imaginative. I do remember reading Pippi Longstocking and Mrs. Piggle Wiggle and one no one has ever heard of, The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles by Julie Andrews, the Actress. My cousin and I loved that book. It’s still in print, but I don’t think it’s in big demand. None of the librarians I’ve talked to have ever heard of it.

    Thanks for sharing your book Ping with us! I’ll have to check it out.

    Heather

    • Nicole says:

      It is a picture book! I love all of Marjorie Flack’s books. And you’re not the only one who’s heard of and read the Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles. I read it too and loved it! The one book I’ve found that no one has ever heard of is The Gnome Mobile by Upton Sinclair.

Leave a Reply

