Here Comes Santa Claus, Here Comes …. Oh Wait, Santa Clause Came!

As previously mentioned (here) I took part in the Book Blogger Holiday Swap. First off, I have to say this was a really great, fun experience.

It seems in a busy world where the holiday seasons are a little bit busier people simply buy a gift without effort and without thought. I’ve been guilty of that myself, it’s not something that I’m proud of, but it’s something I’ve resorted to especially when I’m crunched for time! But thanks to the Book Blogger Holiday Swap I reevaluated my gift buying, and took the time to think about a good gift. And in the end, I’m really happy with the (book) choice I made.

My Santee was Rebecca from Beck’s Book Picks. Head over to see the gift I sent her, and I really hope she likes everything, especially the book!

Being so wrapped up in getting my Santee’s gift, I completely forgot that I was someone’s Santee…until yesterday when the package arrived!

I know, it’s not Christmas, and I shouldn’t have opened it. Truth is, sometimes, I have little to no self-control, and when I saw the package lying on the kitchen table I lost all self-control that I may have had. I tore into the package and found two beautifully wrapped gifts!

First things first, my secret  Santa was Martha of Hey, I Wanted to Read That, and I just want to say Thank You! I loved my gifts!

Before I actually tell (and show!) what I received, I want to take a moment to comment on the wrapping. It was … AMAZING! I cannot wrap a gift if my life depended on it. Normally, anyone who gets a gift from me gets it in a gift bag, a decorative Christmas bag (not just a plain paper bag, that would be boring.)  There’s always too much wrapping paper, or not enough and therefore it’s either bubbling up or being patched together. And than, let’s be honest, it just looks like a big, fat mess. But Martha’s was exquisite! And so neat! I should have taken notes before I tore it up.

And yes, I tore the gifts open and found two books – two books that I really wanted, and cannot wait to read! I received a copy of Simon Holt’s The Devouring and  Melissa de la Cruz’s Angels on Sunset Boulevard. And to my surprise, when I opened the books I found a beautiful bookmark in each! We book lovers could never have enough bookmarks!

Again, Thank You Martha for a very thoughtful gift! I truly love it, and cannot wait to read (and review) both of them!

5 thoughts on “Here Comes Santa Claus, Here Comes …. Oh Wait, Santa Clause Came!

  1. marthalama says:

    Hi Nicole

    I’m so happy your got your books. Thank you for the nice remarks about my wrapping, it’s one of my favorite things to do. As a matter of fact, I spent today having wrap-a-palozza for my daughter while she was out of the house.

    I’m really glad you liked your books and wow, what beautiful covers they have. I had never heard of either reading the book jackets I’m going to be looking up those authors.

    I hope you have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I look forward to reading more of you blog and getting to know you better.

    • Nicole says:

      Even though I don’t particularly like/love wrapping gifts, I’d be more apt to if I had a wrap-a-palozza – that just sounds fun! And yes, I do know Emma @ Miss Print! I’m coming to realize just how small the world is ha ha.

      And I hope you, too, have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy & Health New Year! I’ve added your blog to my blogroll/subscriptions! Can’t wait to keep on reading!

Leave a Reply

