My Crystal Ball Says I’ll Be Doing A Lot of Reading This Summer

Taking a summer course has both its ups and downs. For me, I love getting the chance to be introduced to and to read book I previously did not know of.  On the flip side the biggest down is not being able to read whatever I choose, when I choose to read it. Because summer courses are extremely condensed, squeezing fifteen weeks of work into a mere seven, your life as a reader is pretty much dictated from the beginning.  And for some those seven weeks are the longest weeks of their lives.

I’m currently taking a seven week course, and I have to say this: I’m lucky. Yes, I have the dictated reading list. However it’s a list that leaves options and breathing room.  I am also lucky in the fact that even though the books I have to read are dictated I am picking up books I necessarily would not have picked up on my own terms. Because of this I get the chance to become a more well-rounded reader and reviewer, I get the chance to make educated opinions on specific genres/topics, and I get the chance to learn an extraordinary amount of tools that I was yet to be familiar with.  All of which will better me as a future librarian.

But still – I long for the day where I can simply  pick up any ol’ book and read it when I want and at the pace I want for leisure sake – not because I have to. 

But this summer (summer, for me, officially starts on June 25th) I’m doing things a bit differently. There are many books waiting for me to read them – books I’ve put off for other reading obligations, books that I forgot I even wanted to read, books that I’ve had for so long they deserve to be read, or books I should have read – not for myself, but for my career – that I have yet to get around to. This is the summer where I, as a reader, fulfill those reading requirements. I’ve made my own summer reading list with the hope that I will stick closely to it like I’ve stuck so closely to any reading list I’ve had for any of my graduate course.

My own personal reading list for Summer 2010 –

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson

Dramarama by E. Lockhart

At least the first three of the Harry Potter Series: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

We Were Here by Matt de la Pena

Flowers in the Attic and Petals on the Wind by V.C. Andrews

At least one Stephen King novel – either The Shining or Salem’s Lot

Kiss of Life by Daniel Waters

Liar by Justine Larbalestier

Another Faust by Daniel and Dina Nayeri

Going Bovine by Libba Bray

An Abundance of Katherine’s by John Green

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson

At least two more books in the Pretty Little Liars Series – Flawless and Perfect by Sara Shepard

At least one book featuring music in some way, shape, or form – maybe Vinyl Princess

And lastly, two “classic” children’s literature books (that I’m still not sure of yet).

I know – it’s a really long list – but every day that passes I find another book that is added to my ‘to read’ list. And in order to fit all those books in I need a place to start. So hopefully, with determination, and good reading vibes I will accomplish all of this list – or at least a good portion of it. With that, all I have to say is thank goodness for audiobooks.

What is everyone else planning to read this summer? What are you most excited to read?

One thought on “My Crystal Ball Says I’ll Be Doing A Lot of Reading This Summer

  1. missprint says:

    Sounds like someone is going to be busy this summer but there are a lot of good titles here. My summer goal: clear off one shelf of books I have stacked up to read and/or getting library books I have checked out down to zero.

Leave a Reply

